Florida, the Sunshine State

Florida was given the well-known nickname of ‘The Sunshine State’ by the 1970 Legislator, however other nicknames include ‘The Alligator State’, ‘The Everglade State’ and ‘The Flower State’. The 27th state of the USA was originally named ‘La Florida’ by Juan Ponce de Leon, who landed on its northeastern shores in 1513. It is believed that he named it after Spain’s Eastertime celebrations of ‘Pascua Florida’, meaning the feast of the flowers, however others claim that.. [click to read more]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s